Random Rantings

Spartacus: Blood and Sand is probably the dopest show on cable right now. Well, at least while True Blood and Dexter are preparing to come back. This show gives me so much! From the action to the beautiful use of language to the wardrobe – I mean I’m just outdone. If you have On Demand, I truly suggest you spend some of your Spring catching up!

On Whisperers and Backstabbing Muaphuckas

Here’s the thing: I know that there are quite a few folks who feel like they invented the entire Detroit Poetry Scene and/or feel as if they are the New Age Rebels to this scene and so their arrogant behavior should be accepted. I can’t buy into it. There are three…count them – THREE poets who have been integral to my process in Detroit: Sky Covington, Ben Jones and Aurora Harris. No one else has shown me the level of love, support and respect as these three. Have there been others that have inspired me and increased my interest in this craft along the way? Sure. But, my start in Detroit was with that trio.

It astounds me, that I constantly find out that my name has been tossed around rudely in the mouths of folks who proclaim to support me, my venue, my ethics, et cetera when they know very little about what friendship does and does not mean to me.

My friendships are NOT predicated on how many times you come out to support my venue.

Some of my closest, dearest friends who I see or speak with on a daily, weekly or monthly basis have absolutely no interest in poetry. Their love lies with me. While some of them are artists, they have children or jobs or circumstances beyond their control that keep them from visiting the venue. I do not pressure them to come out. I do not hold it against them when they can’t make it. My success as a venue host has a lot more to do with the safety of the venue and the grind we put into promoting and bringing great art to the scene. I do not and WILL NOT guilt or pressure my friends into patronage of my venue nor will I put our friendship on the line or speak ill of them when they can’t come through.

I am not a traitor, a hater, a pseudo peace maker (or insert ridiculous word/term of hatred here) just because I don’t engage in YOUR poetry beef.

Do you know how many hours I work a day? Aside from work, I’m a full-time girlfriend, sister, auntie, best friend, sistafriend, artist, community leader, performer and human! I’ve got a lot going on! I’m 33 years old. I know better. You should know better. These are children playing childrens’ games and you readily indulge in the bullshit. Did you see the sun shining? Have you felt the warmth thawing out the chill of the Michigan cold? Girl/Boy – BYE! Get some business of your own. Embrace your own humanity. Be more forgiving and stop being so fucking whiny, sickening, divisive…you know, the ill stuff. There is SO MUCH MORE to life than your ridiculous declarations of being disrepected by a scene that only wants to get its own work and voice out. Don’t begrudge folks the process. Let people be crazy. We were those things once. Let It Go. If it doesn’t cover your rent/mortgage nor lie next to you in the bed, it’s just not that serious. My life is too golden. I’m about to get married next year. I’m straight on this wasteful behavior which is probably why we don’t hang like we used to anymore – you’re way too messy.

I need to reconnect with my sistafriends who have had to sit on the sidelines while I worked the art show. It’s over now, let’s connect!

Lizzie
Lia
Leah
Kesha
Alicia
Gordana
Inohs

It’s time to hit the Refresh button and connect. Yawl ready?

On Living Your Best Life

We are not getting any younger, Friends. There are so many important things that we’ve yet to accomplish in 2010. Get moving. If you want to go back to school – go. If you want to make that album or write the book – get it done. Dust those old dreams off of the shelf. You are not too old to bring them into fruition. So many of our goals have been slept on because we aid (or enable) other muaphuckas and take care of ourselves last. That not fruitful. Tossing our talents and the things that are phenomenal about us to side or sitting on them with the booties of procrastination could lead to depression, complacency, self-guilt and more. Get moving! It’s not too late for us.

It certainly isn’t too late for me.

Finally…

Always surround yourself with a group of good friends who know your true essence. The ones who love you beyond your local celebrity status. The ones who love you to life when folks ignorant to who and what you truly are come and attack you. The ones who remind you of all of the great things about you and who chime in lovingly when you need improvement.

I’ve got no time for the fake ones or for the “poetry people” who are content in being just that. My life is more bedazzled than that.

God bless all of you who didn’t have to take so long to come to this realization!!!

It’s all good. I’m a big ball of sunshine burning out my own issues every day!

Yo Gurl,
~phoenix

8 comments

  1. david blair · April 19, 2010

    i love you. you’re awesome. your name would never ever come out my mouth in a bad way. ever. and i’d knock anybody down who tried to defame you to my face… or at least try to. i love you. that is all.

  2. diamondancer · April 19, 2010

    Well said.
    Miss your voice.
    Onelove, d

  3. Azul Detroit · April 19, 2010

    Amen Ase Amen!

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Random Rantings « La Shaun phoenix Moore -- Topsy.com
  5. Mr. Sawyer · April 19, 2010

    This is such a poignant blog. I feel you Ms. Moore.

  6. Prostell · April 20, 2010

    LOVE IT! It is so good to hear you say all of that, cuz I am new to this ‘poetry scene’ thing and at the risk of sounding judgemental (which I really have no problem with anyway) I have never been so appaulled at the amount of mf’s who take themselves so fucking seriously. (steps up on his soapbox) Esp when your poetry is only about you and your personal shit. I constantly remind myself, what makes what I/we say important is not that I/we are the ones saying it, but what we are saying. And if after u get up and rip the mic up with a verse about revolution and how shit needs to change, and then commence to do nothing REAL, , , , , yeah I’m good. Digressing, , , , , , ,

  7. Kingwise · April 20, 2010

    Word up dammit

  8. CROWN.ROYAL · April 21, 2010

    POETRY DUZNT DEFINE D POET.

    N JUST CUZ I DONT LIKE D POET,
    DUZNT MEAN I STILL CANT BE INSPIRED BY THR POEM.

    TOO MANY PEOPLE TRYNA RULE,

    FAR TOO FEW ARE TRYNA BREATHE.

    I LIKE TO BREATHE.

    BUT I WILL NOT SHORTEN MY BREATH FOR ANOTHER MANZ COMFORT.

    I WISH PEOPLE WUD JUST STOP BEINB FAKE AS HELL,
    STOP PRETENDING TO LIKE PEOPLE THAT THEY DONT,
    JUST CUZ ITZ POLITICALLY CORRECT.

    IF U DONT LIKE ME,
    DONT F*CK WHT ME.

    N IF U LIKE ME,
    DONT PRETEND U DONT
    WHEN OTHERS ARE AROUND.

    PEOPLE SHUD FOLLOW THOSE RULES.

    …MONKEYS DONT LIVE LONG.

    TOO MANY PEOPLE TRYNA RULE.
    ..
    FAR TOO FEW TRYNA BREATHE.

    ………. I LIKE TO BREATHE.

Leave a Reply

