The Alchemist

Paulo Coelho wrote a book I love called The Alchemist. I’ve been referencing this book for at least a year now in my quest for self improvement. One of the things that I’ve been thinking a lot about is the fact that I’m a Type 2 Insulin Dependent Diabetic. I’m only 34 and have been battling this disease since 2004. While my numbers are coming back okay, the fact that I need medicine to keep my body functioning sent me into a wild panic the other day.

I know it’s been while since I’ve written anything. Bad phoenix. I’m going to begin to chronicle my road to recovery, the challenges, and the desires to want to self improve here.

My wedding is in 146 days and things are starting to come down to the wire. One of the things I’ve really taken into consideration is the fact that I don’t want the testimony that I waited 32 years to be connected to my husband only to die on him. I want his eyes to light up at the thought of maybe having children. I want our lives filled with travel and leisure and dreams and kingdom building. I don’t want frequent doctor’s visits, pill bottles, loss of limbs, lack of interest in sex and/or depression to be what I bring to our marriage.

So, I’m going to do what I gotta do. Step 1, join the gym 2 miles up the road and walk my way to freedom. Step 2, forgive my past choices and be thankful that they led me to where I am today. Step 3, truly fall in love with myself again and again and again.

Starting…NOW.

Be well,
~phoenix

4 comments

  1. sweetstrength · December 19, 2010

    Yes, yes, yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Woooooord uuuuuup! Sis, forward ever, wit that Sankofa luv n all like that. Good tings a comin.

    Health, happiness, prosperity, and all kinds of Goodness to you.

  2. refreshingandplayful · December 20, 2010

    Do not feel discouraged! My cousin was diagnosed with the same case of diabetes when she was in high school, which sent her into a shock. Needless to say, she’s approaching 30 and has a dedicated husband whose helped her change her habits and maintain a healthy life style. It seems that you have the same type of loving, committed husband-to-be! She’s also working on baby number 2. Baby number 1 is as healthy, curious, and funny as she wants to be. And when my cousin got a little groggy and couldn’t find her way back home with the little 2 yr old in the car, the little one was so smart (and a godsend), that she could point in directions that got them home safely. She couldn’t say “turn left or right” but her photographic memory let my cousin know when she was going the wrong or right way …

    I say all this to say, stay encouraged! You never know the blessings that will be given to you that can help you fight diabetes. *kick* *punch* *pow*! You know?! =)

    Stay blessed…
    Vio

  3. Traci Currie · December 20, 2010

    Gorgeous…
    Coelho is one of my favorite authors. Alchemist, indeed. Such wisdom in his writing. So with that being said, I support every bit of your actions and would love to support all that you are doing to fall right back in love with you…A matter of fact, we should just have a “fall back in love with yourself” movement. Happy Holidays Phoenix!
    TC

  4. Rebecca · December 23, 2010

    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

