The Wife Chronicles

We's Married Now!

So, in exactly 2 more days Tony and I will celebrate 2 months of marriage. It has been a wonderful couple of months growing, planning, dreaming and deepening our friendship.

While sitting at a park today and watching Tony fish, taking in the sounds of the birds, the water and the sunlight, I begin to think about how so many of the things I thought I would be or wanted have change since this little round man entered my life. Ten years ago, when I first entertained how much I wanted to be married, I’d saturated myself with so many magazines and black statistics that said women who are smart, or older, or not paper thin are in the category of women who don’t get married. I realized as I looked at my husband, that I’d really thought that I was going to be one of those women.

Now don’t get me wrong, I enjoy the beauty of my creativity and independence and carefree lifestyle just like the next woman. But, I can’t lie. I wanted a life partner to share this journey with…like forever. Meshell Ndegeocello exclaims on her record Mass Transit “At the end of the day, nobody wants to be alone”. I realized that more honest words hadn’t been spoken than those for me. The sentence, in fact, was so piercing that I began a daily proclamation to the Universe to send me my life partner.

I didn’t think that he was going to be a little round white chef. However, I did hope that he would love a chubby singing poet who dreams a lot, cares too much and wants to save the world. I did hope that he was honest and faithful and didn’t judge and didn’t hit girls. Man, has he stunned me by meeting that criteria. I am forever grateful and richly blessed.

In that, I’d like to dedicate the rest of this year of blogging (or coming back to blogging) to my new marriage, my new music, my new book and my new businesses. I want to share the wholeness of a woman who is discovering herself through the new love in her life and the newly founded love of herself.

I hope that it’s a journey you’d like to take with me.

Attract LOVE and HOPE,

–phoenix

8 comments

  1. traci currie · July 12, 2011

    How Beautiful. I feel like one of your “sex in the city” buddies, but instead we are black and in michigan 😉

    i loved this post. makes me want to continue the hair blog…
    i will journey with you so that i can embrace and continue to “Attract Love and Hope”….
    ciao bella

  2. Phaedra Ventour · July 12, 2011

    Um Mrs. Kotoran.. this blog name needs to be changed! its still under Moore, and on another note, i love the infectious happiness you are exuding, on your blog, fb, etc. I’ll keep reading, as i almost feel excitement in my own self when you speak about love and life… its nice to feel that again.
    Be Blessed.
    Phae

  3. margie Williams · July 12, 2011

    Your message cause this is how I’m taking it, is without a doubt simply lovely. When I read them I am am encourage that true love is waiting for me. I thought I had found it once but I was wrong. Keep writing and I’ll keep reading. Thank you sister friend and thank you Tony for loving her.

  4. gigi · July 13, 2011

    I could not love this more. So absolutely beautiful.

  5. Sonya · July 13, 2011

    Phoenix, I am so very happy for you and wish you and Tony the best in growing as a married couple. Marriage, just as life, is amazing, yet can throw you a curve ball. As long as you BOTH want it, love one another, and put in the work you will be just fine. I thank God you have found this thing called marriage because as you quoted “At the end of the day, nobody wants to be alone”. BTW you were a beautiful bride! Love Ya, Sonya Brown.

  6. Kenneth Blake Eerie Brewton · July 13, 2011

    Good luck and congrats, all in one.

  7. Sweet Strength · July 13, 2011

    Yes!

  8. Dimonique Boyd · July 14, 2011

    I always love running across and reading your blogs! This one was especially lovely, and my lil punk self has tears in my eyes. Looking forward to more great reading. :0)

Leave a Reply

