A Fresh Start

Starting fresh doesn’t have to be a daunting task.

I haven’t written a blog since April. It was probably May 2012 when my life began to alter. I celebrated my first year of marriage to my incredibly wonderful husband. I revised my personal goals for my life, redirected my energies for how to promote my album Space Between the Rain, and was prepping for my solo-produced event La Shaun phoenix Moore presents The Summer Soundtrack.

During that time, I was slowly beginning to realize that a few of my friendships and personal limits were being tested. I had to make some extremely hard decisions in order to create the life I truly desired. I knew from jump that not everyone would be on board with my plans (especially if it wasn’t mutually beneficial). I knew that there were going to be some challenges ahead, but I couldn’t be afraid. My sister posted a quote on her Facebook page today from T.D. Jakes that resonated with me. It read:

“As God POSITIONS you for the future, you will begin noticing the importance of breaking old cycles. Breaking the cycle of repeated mistakes requires making a decision to move on with your life, but it won’t happen overnight and neither will it be easy. Find a way to move out of the past, move ahead, free from all encumbrances that threaten to leave you attached to your yesterday. Do not let the dead weight of old cycles impede your progress!”

I had completely put myself in a position for some of the strife I was experiencing. There were moments when I felt like I had to be overly grateful for the seeds people sowed into my life. I was made to feel (by myself and others) that I owed more to them than what they actually deserved. The end result was a lot of frustration, passive-aggressiveness, and unforgiveness. My emotions were spiraling out of control and I retreated into myself, the arms of my husband and to my circle of close confidants to determine what my next steps needed to be as an artist, a woman, and a wife.

On the heels of the amazing success of The Summer Soundtrack, I made the decision to leave my label SoundThought Recordings. That choice was met with sadness, anger, maybe some disappointment and the loss of a few friends and supporters– all of the things that you’d expect from such an endeavor. It was a difficult, but rational choice that I needed to make as an artist. If I regret anything, it is that I didn’t have the courage to spare some hurt two years earlier when I was clear on that desire. Loyalty, fear of change, fear of disappointing people, people pleasing – all of this leads to DRAMA. I’ve taken the advice of my girl D’Nice Wilson and am working through my shit and moving forward. Ain’t nobody got time for stress, hate, or discord. Keep It Moving. Stop tripping. Start Fresh.

“Fearlessly and confidently go in the direction of your dreams.”

We’ve been rehearsing for my event tomorrow night, La Shaun phoenix Moore presents The Autumn Soundtrack. It’s being sponsored by the Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History and Poets & Writers Magazine. Kenny Watson, Chace “Mic Write” Morris, Billione, Chanda Long, Scott Woods, Whitney Syphax Walker, a live band and ME all together for a free night of poetry and music. The event is going to be packed out and this was just the boost and confirmation that I needed that my life is headed in the right direction.

I stated my new entertainment/promotions company MoGal Entertainment. I’ve got a new music video coming out on Saturday. I’ll be launching my new website in November and I’ll also begin working on my next project with my new label under the direction of Jeff and Kesha Campbell – Camp Campbell. I just had an amazing photo shoot with Kahn Davison, got another epic shoot coming up in early November with Tylonn J. Sawyer, some other great opportunities on the table with a few artists and I’m dreaming up an unplugged event and a Winter Soundtrack. Tony and I will be retreating up north this winter to retreat with friends and then in April, we’re hitting Jamaica for some fun in the sun.

I only have time for gratefulness. I only have time to focus on enhancing my life so that I can impact others. I only want to attract goodness.

So let it be said, so let it be done.

I challenge you to focus on goodness, practice gratefulness, and be specific when you speak your desires out to the Universe. There are only 3 things that can make your dreams come true: your thoughts, your words and your actions. They are all you’ve got and they are ultimately all you need.

I believe in you. Thank you for riding out this journey with me.

Yo Gurl,
phoenix

2 comments

  1. rashida · October 25, 2012

    love it! awesome

  2. Chantay Legacy Leonard · October 25, 2012

    I approve this message. 🙂

Leave a Reply

