Phoenixes vs. Pigeons

fantasyfirephoenix

pigeon1

Proverbs 22:24 “Make no friendship with an angry man; and with a furious man thou shalt not go: Lest thou learn his ways, and get a snare to thy soul.”

The best thing that ever happened to me was the day that I took full, honest responsibility for my actions, admitted my wrongs, apologized where it was necessary and made the choice to move forward. I get that not everyone is capable of processing things that way, but anger usually only destroys the host that it’s housed in. And keeping it one hundred, I’m not about to expend such a volatile, unstable energy on anyone like that! I’ve got too many rich blessings going on in my life to waste my most powerful tool – my emotion – on rage.

In that, while I’m no Bible scholar, I call on the forces of the Creator to cover me and those that I love against the devices of evil. “Let God arise, let his enemies be scattered” from the Psalms (68:1) has been my favorite mantra these days and I am fearlessly, purposefully forging forward.

Each and every one of us is imbued with a divine spark; an unwavering knowing that we’re supposed to be here to make the world a better place. While I believe that no man in and of himself is an island – that we absolutely need community – I also contend that all of the people, places and events that lead us to our destiny are divinely inspired. Thus, we owe no man for our greatness – only our Creator.

Understand that the only person who has the power to direct your destiny is YOU.

Over the past year, I have learned to release toxicity and seize what is mine. And dig, it pisses people off (especially if you’re a people pleaser like I was) when you decide not to be puppeted anymore. Leave people to their rage. Allow them to spontaneously combust. Don’t let THEIR anger shake YOUR Universe. It has nothing to do with you anymore. Make your peace and move on. Attract positivity. If you’re not thinking about a negative thought, your vibration is going to rise to its natural positive place. And that’s where I want to dwell. That’s where I’ve been dwelling! I’ve acknowledged my hurt and my growth. I am 100% responsible for all of the good and not so good things that I’ve experienced. I’m not afraid of that responsibility.

I am NOT afraid.

Becoming a woman uncaged is no easy feat. It is accepting the marvelous awe-inspiring things about myself, as well all of the bullshit that needs correction. My girl Monica Blaire posted on her Facebook page today, “I’m perfect with not being perfect.” Finally, with a heart full of love and a purposed destiny, I can echo that sentiment. I don’t get it right all of the time, but I’m damn sure not afraid to take ownership of all of the success and defeats that I’ve experienced.

Don’t let the world, your haters or yourself brow beat you into believing that you can’t manifest your destiny. Don’t be afraid to let the unhealthy things go – no matter who is offended by it. DO YOU.

Dust yourself off from the past and forgive yourself. There’s just way too much life to be living to stay suspended in rage.

I am a phoenix.

I fly at an altitude that pigeons can’t reach.

I won’t…I CAN’T bring myself down to the level of birds who enjoy reveling in garbage and scraps. I’m too fly for that and I want more for my life than that.

The word of today is JOY. I’ll take a large helping, please and thank you.

Love you all.

Yo Gurl,
phoenix

One comment

  1. Traci · May 9, 2013

    Letting Go & Taking Responsibility – the name of the game! Quite Lovely! Thanx for this word.

Leave a Reply

