Happy Apple Picker!

543441_10201652558132688_480327049_n 1235505_10200701056908059_1969203686_n 1238815_608270579223147_1680181031_n (1) Dally 1

Peace, Firebirds:

Thanks for your overwhelming support at Detroit’s 36th Annual Dally In the Alley!  Our set started a few minutes late and we had a tiny pocket of rain, but you all came out in great numbers and danced and partied with us!  Thanks for supporting our merch as well!  My team and I are working on leaking a few songs from my upcoming album for you!  The CD with those tracks will be available for purchase at my I N F E R N O showcase.

I’ve learned some interesting lessons in the past week.  Sometimes, it doesn’t matter how much you’ve moved on or forgiven a person after a negative moment, you are not in control of THEIR feelings.  They are still free to be angry, bitter and negative.  They are still free to act out vindictively (under the guise of righteousness).  This experience happened to me recently.

I’m still experiencing a little backlash from a former acquaintance who professes to be moving on with their life.  Their behavior (and that of their cohorts) suggests that maybe that isn’t 100% true.  Being targeted ruffled my feathers.  It made me want to rage out.  It made me doubt my purpose.  It was souring.  As those sad and negative feelings set in, the remembrance of how God has been blessing me began to overtake me.  I felt immediately LIFTED!!!!

From December until now, I’ve averaged 3 full shows per month.  In the past, I was averaging 1 show a YEAR.  This year alone, I’ve been on stage 25 times.  I’ve traveled in leisure to other countries. I have some of the best friends on earth.  I’ve had the chance to do some really incredible, really collaborative work with some of the most amazing artists in Detroit and abroad.  Why, then, am I even wasting ENERGY on something and someone who has literally NOTHING to do with my bottom line or my amazing life?  Why do I want to rage against someone or something whose life is bearing nothing but rotten fruit?

Because, I’m hyper-emotional.  That’s why.

I want everyone to like me.  It makes me uncomfortable to think that I could have an enemy out in the world.  Sure!  I’ve got a big personality.  I laugh loud.  My truth can be abrasive.  I’m consistent, though.  I’m either your flavor of the month, or I’m not.  I don’t mind if folks hate on me.  I mind if they hate me.  And I shouldn’t.  Flat out.  I’ve got way too many awesome experiences yet to have and more supporters than I can count, to spend time focusing on one rotten apple.

One rotten apple actually CAN’T spoil the whole bunch if you identify that sucker and just throw it out of the bushel!!!

In that, I posted the following on my Facebook Fan Page and it rings true and gives me great encouragement right now:

“There will be moments when the enemy will literally walk around in your audience, question your worth, and make you wonder if you’re ludicrous for pursuing YOUR purpose. Don’t sweat that madness. Look low and remember where God brought you from (a horrible pit). Look up for a guideline on where you’re going (NORTH). Look forward at the wide array of folks who are supporting you NOW. Look back with warm regards on a life that you’ve moved on from.

 

Let the Creator deal with your enemies.

 

Offer no retorts to miserable people feigning happiness. Pray that love and light genuinely finds them. Then you, with your infinite possibility, truly show them the definition of forward movement.”

Today, I move onward.  Focused.  Undistracted. Successfully.

Remember our anthem for the year:

  • Be careful who you let in and around your circle (including family).  Not everyone deserves the pleasure of your presence.
  • Love yourself where you are right now.  If you have a little more to love – love that.  If you want to have less to love – then work on it.  But, love yourself where you are right now.
  • Pursue your purpose.  If you don’t know what that is right now, seek out your Creator for an answer.  Look at the context clues around you.  Consider what you’re passionate about.  But, LIVE your purpose.  You’re not truly living if you aren’t.

 

 

Thank you for being a part of my journey.  I am SUPER grateful for each of you!  I’m still gigging all over the place!  Check my list of upcoming performances.

 

 

Upcoming Performances:

September

September 13, 2013 (Friday) – Featured Poet, P.E.A.C.E.F.U.L. Demonstration, Four Hundred Gourmet Bistro, 16500 North Park Dr. Suite 111, Southfield, Michigan 48075.  Cover: $5, Time: 8:00-11:00 PM

September 21, 2013 (Saturday) – Featured Poet, Midtown Lit Walk Festival hosted by M.L. Liebler, Midtown Detroit (various venues).  FREE.  Time: 11:00 AM-5:00 PM

September 28, 2013 – Motor City Black Age of Comics Convention (Guest Performer), Youthville Detroit, 7375 Woodward Avenue, Detroit, Michigan 48202. Time: 4:00-6:00 PM, Cover: FREE

September 28, 2013 – Detroit Vegan Soul GRAND OPENING (Guest Performer), Detroit Vegan Soul, 8029 Agnes St, Detroit, MI 48214.  Performance Time: 6:30 PM, Cover: FREE

October

October 1, 2013 (Tuesday) – Featured Performer, Lyrics to L!V By.  L!V Resto-Lounge, 641 Beaubien Street, Detroit, Michigan 48226.  FREE.  Time: 9:00 – Midnight.

October 4, 2013 (Friday)Featured Performer, Brightmoor Community Center, 14451 Burt Road @ Lyndon, Detroit, MI  48223. FREE.  Time: 6:00-9:00 PM.

October 26, 2013 (Saturday) Date Held for Private Baby Shower!

October 27, 2013 (Sunday) Date Held for Private Baby Shower!

November

November 2, 2013 (Saturday) – La Shaun phoenix Moore’s INFERNO, Park Bar/Elizabeth Theater, 2040 Park Avenue, Detroit, MI. Hosted by Alexis Draper, Time: 8-11:00 PM, Cover: $15

November 3, 2013 (Sunday) Date Held for Private Baby Shower!

November 23, 2013 (Saturday) – La Shaun phoenix Moore RETURNS to Black Lotus Brewery!!  1 East 14 Mile Road, Clawson, MI 48017-2132.  Time: 9:00-11:30 PM.  Cover: FREE

Interested in booking us for your event?

Contact:  Alicia Spenceraspencer26@gmail.com or Alexis Draper lexdowntherabbithole@gmail.com

Wanna stay connected with me?

Facebook: www.facebook.com/lashaunphoenixmoore or www.facebook.com/TeamFirebird

Twitter: @lashaunphoenix

Instagram: Detroitphoenix

Tumblr:  http://lashaunphoenixmoore.tumblr.com/

Email:  MoGalDetroit@gmail.com

Yo Gurl,

-phoe

 

2 comments

  1. Scheherazade · September 11, 2013

    so…I like you.

    and if I’m arrogant enough, I’ll convince you that I *am* everybody.

    I love you!! Keep going!!

Leave a Reply

