Not Bad For The First Half Of The Year, Eh?

future-self1

Peace, Firebirds:

It has been an exciting couple of weeks!  I had a wonderful birthday show at Black Lotus Brewery in Clawson.  You all showed up and showed out!  The venue was impressed with us.  I followed up that event with a poetry performance at They Say in Detroit hosted by the phenomenal Katrina Storm and Natasha T. Miller. The environment was wonderful and it was a space that welcomed all arts.  Vocalists.  Poets.  Comedians.  Community discussion.  The event was well done.  I followed that event up with Saturday’s family reunion event on Belle Isle.  My band is dope.  There were folks who weren’t even a part of the family reunion – just visitors to the island – that wandered over to hear our work and offer a kind word.  We sold out of all of our CDs and books this weekend, so we’ll press up a few more for our upcoming gigs.

In other news, the DVD for La Shaun phoenix Moore UNCAGED is out and ready to purchase!

You can order your copy here: https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=3H299HK99K3TY

I am spending some time reviewing the goals that I want for my life this year.  I desire a life filled with abundance on every level.  I’d like wealth in my art, in my health, in my finances and in my overall life.  I’m making some really great strides in that direction right now.  The part that I find most difficult is the purging process.  It’s so hard to let go of things!  I become so attached to the routine of things that when that routine is disrupted, it feels like I fall out of flow with myself.

I’m learning that it’s okay to walk away, to own my feelings, to not deal with anyone’s bullshit or abuse, to not be an enabler, to accept my flaws and work them out and to really appreciate the imperfectly perfect being that I am.  I am vibrant and full of life.  I am loyal.  I talk too much.  I can be passive.  I get my feelings hurt easily.  I love hard.  I try.  We ALL try!

I am forgiving myself and others in this rotation.  I am revising my goals and focusing on myself.  I am planning my next vacation (think we’re going back to Mexico).  I am looking forward to some much needed time alone with my husband.  I am missing my friend David Blair.  I am looking forward to my next gig so that I can vibe out with you.

Do you goal set?  What do your dreams look like?  How great is your vision?  Inbox me your thoughts and comments at MoGalDetroit@gmail.com.

Remember our anthem for the year:

  1. Be careful who you let in and around your circle (including family).  Not everyone deserves the pleasure of your presence.
  2. Love yourself where you are right now.  If you have a little more to love – love that.  If you want to have less to love – then work on it.  But, love yourself where you are right now.
  3. Pursue your purpose.  If you don’t know what that is right now, seek out your Creator for an answer.  Look at the context clues around you.  Consider what you’re passionate about.  But, LIVE your purpose.  You’re not truly living if you aren’t.

 

 

Thank you for being a part of my journey.  I am SUPER grateful for each of you!

 

Upcoming Performances

August

August 9, 2013 – La Shaun phoenix Moore Under The Stars, Capital Park, Downtown Detroit (State Street/Shelby). Time: 9-11:00 PM Cover: FREE

September

September 28, 2013 – Motor City Black Age of Comics Convention (Guest Performer), Youthville Detroit, 7375 Woodward Avenue, Detroit, Michigan 48202. Time: 4-6:00 PM Cover: FREE

October

October 5, 2013 – La Shaun phoenix Moore’s INFERNO, Park Bar/Elizabeth Theater, 2040 Park Avenue, Detroit, MI. Hosted by Alexis Draper, Time: 8-11:00 PM Cover: $15

Yo Gurl,

phoenix

4 comments

  1. Mr. Sawyer · July 22, 2013

    YAY!!!!!!

  2. kahn · July 23, 2013

    Happy birthday, love the blog!!!

  3. Traci Currie · July 30, 2013

    Loving your words and the direction of your life. Infectious! BOOOOOOM!
    TC

Leave a comment